High Pressure Gauge-CO2 Leak

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• High Pressure Gauge-CO2 Leak

When I turn off the valve on the CO2 tank and leave the rest of the valves on overnight the high pressure decreases.

Is this due to a leak?

Other posts suggest yes, but when I leak test the high pressure needle doesn't move. I think it is a slow leak based at the coupler.

What could cause the coupler to leak?

I inspected the coupler by taking it apart and all seems to be ok. Used the soapy solution and could not identify anything.

Any suggestions?

You're saying the output pressure of the regulator decreases? I have never tried this test before. There could be a number of possible answers. The keg is filled with beer? Depending on what the pressure is set to and what temp the beer is, it could absorb some of the CO2.

Can I ask what prompted you to test this? Do you think you have a gas leak?

Comment

Thanks for your reply.

Yes, I think I have a leak. Yes the keg is full.

The gauge that says the pressure of the CO2 tank decreases (high pressure guage) when I shut off the main valve. Other posts say when this decreases when shut off there is a leak.

Originally, I went thru 1 5# CO2 tank in 1.5 half barrels so I ordered a new double gauge regulator thinking that was the source. Still being cautious, I am shutting off main valve on the tank every night so I don't waste more gas. When I wake up it is down to 0 psi from 500psi. However, the low pressure remains constant at 10 psi. The liquid temperature is about 40 degrees F.

I thought High Pressure was to remain constant as well?

Comment